News Release

IUCN Council appoints Vice-Presidents for 2013-16

13 February 2013
Vice-Presidents of IUCN 2013-2016: Mr. Malik Amin Aslam Khan, Pakistan; Mr. Miguel Pellerano, Argentina; Dr John Robinson, USA; and Ms Marina von Weissenberg, Finland. (Top row then bottom row l-r) Photo: IUCN

Mr. Malik Amin Aslam Khan (Pakistan), Mr. Miguel Pellerano (Argentina), Dr John Robinson (USA) and Ms Marina von Weissenberg (Finland), have been named Vice-Presidents of IUCN for 2013-16.

The four Vice-Presidents were appointed by the IUCN Council, at its 81st meeting, which took place in Gland, Switzerland, from 29-30 January 2013.

IUCN’s President, Zhang Xinsheng of China, was elected during the recent IUCN Congress, held in September 2012 in the Republic of Korea.

The Council is responsible for the oversight and general control of all the affairs of IUCN, subject to the authority of the IUCN World Conservation Congress, and is the principal governing body of IUCN in between sessions of Congress. Experience, gender balance and geographical distribution are considered when choosing the Vice-Presidents.

Click here to view the profiles of all of the IUCN Councillors for the current term, including those of the newly appointed Vice-Presidents.

Other languages:

« Return to Current News